2016 Southwestern Team Disc Golf Invitational - Wrap Up

Well it finally happened. San Diego after 36 years of hosting the annual Team Tourney could not rely on local knowledge to give them an edge. The absence of two mainstays Micah and D2 was too much to overcome and San Diego ignominiously fell to last place having never earned more than 5 points in any 12 point match. They were flushed in round 7 by perennially last place Oak Grove team in what was euphemistically referred to as the Toilet Bowl. But teams came into the match at 0-6. Oak Grove prevailed 7-5.

The real story this year was the amazing performance of Team Oregon. Having been absent from this event for the past 6 years they came with Team Nate (Nate Sexton and Nate Doss) on the top end and current PDGA Women’s World Champion Valerie Jenkins anchoring the very talented team on the back end. Their whole team showed up for the putting contest on Friday and #1 Grandmaster Mike Ward took down first place ($100) in an extended and thrilling contest. Then they unanimously won the “Spirit of the Event” award (6 discs each plus a Dryfit from Dude Apparel). Then Jim Tobish one of their Masters won the individual “Spirit” award (Black Hole practice from MVP) and finally they also won the event ($250 plus 5 discs each) over Santa Cruz ($120 plus 4 discs each) 6.5-5.5. It came down to the last hole of the last players still playing where Val deuced and Sarah Hokom scored par.
Amazing…had they tied that match Santa Cruz was ahead on points that round and would have taken the title. 
No team has ever won everything the tourney has to offer before. Kudo’s to team captain Magilla for putting together such a talented and fun loving group.

Overall the tourney ran smooth. The change of allowing the players to stay out on the course after the 4th round and continuing on with their 5th match made a huge difference and allowed virtually all teams to finish before dark. The “all you can eat” lunch provided again this year by my son’s restaurant Amplified Ale Works in PB was much approved by the ravenous players. 

Next year San Diego has several motivated individuals moving up an age category. That with a little extra recruitment from the North County talent pool could hopefully help us become competitive again.

Many thanks to this year’s sponsors Innova, Dynamic Distribution, Discraft, MVP, Legacy, Millennium, Gateway, San Diego Hydroponics, Hamilton’s bar, and NP Trophy. The staff in the shop Mitch, Tyler and Tommy put together much of the paper prep. The much enlarged “day of” tourney staff Mac, Eric, EJ, Chris, Jesse, Charlie, Willie, Oscar, Mikey B., Jeff N., Chef Aaron and Joanne made for a far less stressful event when challenges arose. It is with deep appreciation I give my heartfelt thanks to all who made this year’s Team Tourney one of the best in recent memory.

Till next year…
Z ya

Click here to view results